SM Link

Governor's Snowmobile Advisory Council


The Snowmobile Advisory Council is a citizen advisory group for the state's Snowmobile Trails Program. The seven-person council was established in 1980, and ensures that snowmobilers' best interests are considered in the expenditure of dedicated snowmobile funds. Game, Fish and Parks staff meet with the Snowmobile Advisory Council four times each year to receive endorsements for budgets, trail routes and to inform them of trail issues. The governor appoints members of the council, typically for three-year terms.



Next Meeting

Saturday, August 16, 2014, 9 a.m. CT

Capitol Lake Visitor Center, Pierre, SD


May 10, 2014 meeting




Council Members



Bruce Hintz
21377 Snowshoe Rd.
Lead, SD 57754

Gary Ulmer
43230 290th Street
Menno, SD 57045

Al Nagel
1324 3rd Ave. SW
Aberdeen, SD 57401

Todd Wilkinson
103 Joliet Ave.
De Smet, SD 57231


Vice Chairman

Scott Erstad
PO Box 126
Badger, SD 57214

Dave Kennedy
3214 E Fairgrounds Loop
Ste B
Spearfish, SD 57783

Russell Johnson
46785 290th Street
Beresford, SD 57004